Dalai Lama Fellows is a year-long online leadership programme for people who are already running a social change project. Applications for the 2027 cycle opened on 1 October 2026 and close on 11 November 2026. Fellows get the Head, Heart, Hands curriculum, coaching and membership of an alumni community. The programme page does not state any funding amount.
For practitioners under 37 who already work on a community issue, this is a structured way to build leadership skills without leaving the work.
At a glance
| Deadline | 11 November 2026 (no time zone stated) |
| Who can apply | Ages 20 to 36 as of 1 April 2027, fluent in written and spoken English, active in a social change project |
| What you get | Year-long online curriculum, one-on-one and small-group coaching, alumni community |
| Format | Online, about 12 hours a month plus your own project work |
| Cost to apply | No fee is stated on the application page |
| Official link | apply.dalailamafellows.com |
Who can apply to Dalai Lama Fellows 2027?
The organizer sets these criteria for the 2027 cycle:
- Age 20 to 36 on 1 April 2027.
- Fluency in written and spoken English.
- Active engagement with a social change project.
- In-depth knowledge of the community and the issue the project addresses, preferably with at least one year of previous experience.
- Interest in contemplative practices.
No country restriction is listed on the application page.
What you get
The application page lists a yearlong Head, Heart, Hands online leadership curriculum, one-on-one and small-group coaching, and lifelong affiliation with the global learning community. No stipend or project funding is mentioned, so read this as a learning and network programme, not a grant.
The programme is stewarded by a partnership of university centres. The official site names the University of Virginia Contemplative Sciences Center and the University of Colorado Boulder Renée Crown Wellness Institute among its host institutions. Details are on the Dalai Lama Fellows website.
How to apply
- Open the official application portal and register.
- Log in and create your application.
- Save it as a draft while you prepare your answers.
- Submit the final version before 11 November 2026.
The application opened on 1 October 2026. A selection date and programme start date are not published on the application page. Questions go to dalailamafellows@virginia.edu.
Advice from the Impact DOTS team
- Start from the project, not the programme. The criteria ask for in-depth knowledge of your community and issue, so describe who you work with and what you have seen, in specifics.
- Evidence beats ambition. If you have run your project for a year or more, say what has changed and how you know.
- Be honest about contemplative practice. The organizer lists interest in it as a criterion, so explain your actual relationship to it rather than borrowing the vocabulary.
- Check the time. About 12 hours a month is on top of project work, so confirm you can protect it for a full year.
FAQ
Is there an application fee?
The application page does not state a fee. Confirm any cost with the organizer before you apply.
Does the fellowship include funding?
No funding amount is stated. The listed benefits are the curriculum, coaching and the alumni community.
Do I need to live in a specific country?
The application page lists no country restriction. The programme is delivered online and requires fluent English.
Which time zone does the deadline use?
The page gives 11 November 2026 without a time zone. Submit a day early to be safe.




